The unattractiveness of a complaining spirit…

Image

Taken by my bro, Sam 🙂

I’m back!

It’s funny how I tend to be inspired with a lot to say on days that I’m busy but when I actually have time to blog, my mind becomes an empty canvas (in a bad way-I am uninspired).

Have had a lot on my mind recently. There is always the question of “Why did God bring me through this whole roller coaster ride, to invest so much time and prayer and effort (of many wonderful people too!), just for all these to come to naught?” I have come to the acceptance that there will be no answers for these questions, at least not in the near future.

Why does God allow my pain to prolong? Isn’t one kind of pain enough? Pain externally and also pain internally…  Then I begin to make sinful comparisons and wonder why others seem to have it so easy for them (yeah, I know. Smack my head.)

A complaining spirit saps you of joy. It clouds your vision – overwhelms you with your heartaches and trials and clouds your eyes to God’s goodness and the many blessings you already have in your life.

We tend to see complaining as a “milder” sin compared to lying, anger or lust, but judging from how God punished the Israelites for complaining in the wilderness, we had better take heed.

God repeatedly warns in His word about trusting and obeying Him, remembering His goodness, not forgetting His discipline and having eyes of faith when all looks bleak.

When I complain, it not only discourages the person who listens to it, but it brings dishonour to the Lord Whom I profess to be sovereignly wise, always loving and all powerful.

If only my responses could be right through these trials, so that God’s glory could be shown amidst the rubble and broken pieces of my life… No, I have not reached that stage yet. Christ be praised when that day comes 🙂

I will not pray for an easy path to walk on, for God has commanded us to carry our cross daily and follow Him… But I pray for stronger faith, vision with the end in mind, and a willing and surrendered heart.

Some of my favourite verses this week:

Deuteronomy 7:12-13

English Standard Version (ESV)

12 “And because you listen to these rules and keep and do them, the Lord your God will keep with you the covenant and the steadfast love that he swore to your fathers. 13 He will love you, bless you, and multiply you.

1 Corinthians 10:9-13

9 We must not put Christ to the test, as some of them did and were destroyed by serpents, 10 nor grumble, as some of them did and were destroyed by the Destroyer. 11 Now these things happened to them as an example, but they were written down for our instruction, on whom the end of the ages has come. 12 Therefore let anyone who thinks that he stands take heed lest he fall. 13 No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it.

God bless! Have a good weekend!

6 thoughts on “The unattractiveness of a complaining spirit…

  1. Rach, thanks for always confiding in me ~ despite you knowing that you might sound like complaining and therefore hesitating. It has been a joy to be your friend and while I am not the best listener (can’t count the number of times I was a Job’s Comforter too), thank you for trusting me and letting me be blessed by being a listener. Love you, sis.

  2. Thanks for your assurance, sis. I think it’s always important to be honest with ourselves and also with God, by not masking our true feelings. I am not contradicting myself when I say this… Meaning yes, it is ok to wail to God sometimes and ask Him why, but the end result should still be surrender and trust. To me what is more wrong is when I harbour resentment or bitterness in my heart, a complaining heart attitude can be more damaging than words. 🙂 unless I’m like an old grandmother repeating the same laments like a broken tape recorder… maybe I am? 😛

Leave a Reply

