I Will Run To You

“And I will run to You
To Your words of truth
Not by might, not by power
But by the spirit of God
Yes I will run the race
‘Till I see Your face
Oh let me live in the glory of Your grace!”

Three weeks of cough has caused inflammation in the lining of my right lung, causing sharp stabbing pains that exacerbates when I cough, laugh or inhale deeply.

Image

When the pain and fatigue gets the better of me, I succumb to tears.

The frustration of being sick and feeling sick all the time. Disheartened, knowing that I have let many people down over the past month when I cannot keep appointments or “be there” when I am needed most. Feeling helpless about being a burden and inconvenience to my family and those around me.

But at the same time, I experience deep and abiding peace and joy in the moments of solitude and rest.

The deepest fellowship with Him lies not in resisting when suffering comes our way, but in going through it resolutely with Him“. -Pamela Roswell

Fitness and developing stronger muscles had been one of my goals this year – training at the gym and exercise are activities I enjoy and look forward to, but it has been frequently interrupted by periods of sickness and being unwell.

With such low immunity, it is no surprise that I am physically so weak. But my physical body is only one composite of who I am. My soul, my spirit, are far more important composites, and these are the ones that need to remain strong through adversity and difficulty.

God perhaps, wants to strengthen me in the inner composites. Strength in my mind and build a spirit of iron and a soul of submission and surrender.

Maybe I’ve to give up my dreams of being fit and muscular on the outside.

But I can develop strength on the inside – God will enable.

One thought on “I Will Run To You

  1. That’s right! Christ in you, the hope of glory! Rach you’re a trooper! Mighty strong lady on the inside. Keep blogging, Rachel. Praying that You will find peace and strength in His everlasting arms!

Leave a Reply

