Suffering and Ministry

A friend sent me a devotional text this evening which included this verse:

Luke 4:18-19 NIV “The Spirit of the Lord is on me, because he has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor. He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners and recovery of sight for the blind, to set the oppressed free, to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor.”

These first six verses from Isaiah 61 was my heartfelt desire and prayer to God last year.

“The Spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has anointed me to bring good news to the poor; He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and the opening of the prison to those who are bound; to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favour, and the day of vengeance of our God; to comfort all who mourn; to grant to those who mourn in Zion—to give them a beautiful headdress instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the garment of praise instead of a faint spirit; that they may be called oaks of righteousness, the planting of the Lord, that he may be glorified.

They shall build up the ancient ruins; they shall raise up the former devastations;
they shall repair the ruined cities, the devastations of many generations.”

I want so much to receive His anointing to administer comfort, healing and freedom to the wounded and hurting. I know that comforting words spoken in fleshly wisdom and emotions bring no lasting healing nor freedom. It is the power of the Holy Spirit that brings light, life and understanding to both the one who administers and the one who receives.

Any word that Rachel Chan utters will fall flat to the ground without any germination or benefit unless it is blessed with the unction and power of the Most High.

I definitely felt a little greedy with such a weighty request (after all, these words were prophecies meant for Jesus, right?!) and also a little presumptuous (hello Rachel, like you’re so holy!), but this desire in my heart remains. My assurance is in the promise Jesus gave in John 14: 12-14.

12 “Truly, truly, I say to you, whoever believes in me will also do the works that I do; and greater works than these will he do, because I am going to the Father. 13 Whatever you ask in my name, this I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. 14 If you ask me anything in my name, I will do it.

With such prayers comes a price to pay. Unless I partake in His suffering, I cannot partake in His ministry. 

Leave a Reply

