The Heart of Prayer

The Lord hears the longing in our hearts more than He hears the words of our lips.

Let my heart long for that which Your heart longs for. 

Teach me how to pray, but first, teach me what it means to pant after You.

Let me learn of Your ways.

Make me hungry, make me thirst.

What I see as a crushing weight upon my heart is merely a little lesson You are teaching me about the cross You have carried to Calvary.

Let the yoke and burdens that I take upon myself come only from You, for this is the state where I will find complete peace and rest.

The paradox of the Christian life – to live, one must die. 

Leave a Reply

