A Time of Training and Discipline

“The best training is to learn to accept everything as it comes, as from Him whom our soul loves. The tests are always unexpected things, not great things that can be written up, but the common little rubs of life, silly little nothings, things you are ashamed of minding one scrap.”

Amy Carmichael

These vexations that come in the form of little inconveniences, hiccups that interrupt one’s schedule, are tools of His training and discipline.

Training my will to will what He wills.

Dying to my wants for constancy in this relationship.

Schooling my emotions and disciplining how I react and respond to delays, disappointments and setbacks.

I had better learn these lessons well. Things will not get easier. 

As I shared with a friend last week, there will always be stress in life! Any challenge or difficulties experienced as an unmarried young adult will usually only increase with marriage, parenthood and added responsibilities of work or ministry. The challenges you face then will become more complex, demanding and complicated.

Striving for a Crown

24 Do you not know that those who run in a race all run, but one receives the prize? Run in such a way that you may obtain it. 25 And everyone who competes for the prize is temperate in all things. Now they do it to obtain a perishable crown, but we for an imperishable crown. 26 Therefore I run thus: not with uncertainty. Thus I fight: not as one who beats the air. 27 But I discipline my body and bring it into subjection, lest, when I have preached to others, I myself should become disqualified.

(1 Corinthians 9:24-27 NKJV)

Leave a Reply

