Saying Yes to You 

“Courage is not about knowing the path. It is about taking the first step. It is about Peter getting out of the boat, stepping out onto the water with complete faith that Jesus will not let him drown. 

I do not know my five-year plan; even tomorrow will probably not go as I have planned. I am thrilled and I am terrified, in a good way. Some call it courage; some call it foolish; I call it faith. I choose to get out of the boat. Sometimes I walk straight into His arms. More often, I get scared and look down and stumble. Sometimes I almost completely drown. And through it all, He never lets go of my hand. 

Lord, may we choose you every moment of every day. We want to be fully committed to You. We want every day to become a day we say “yes” to You. We repent for lukewarm-ness, from mediocrity, from normalcy. We want to shine so brightly for You that others can’t help but see and feel your love. Let us look at every encounter as an opportunity to show Your love. 

Lord, on the days where helping just one more person seems like too much, help me to choose You. 

On the days when satan whispers “You can’t save everyone, why are you trying?” Let me choose You. 

When harsh words are easier to find than kind ones, let me choose You. 

Father, like Paul, I know what I want to do, what I should do, and yet I find myself failing and discouraged. Thank You for your grace. Thank You that You who sit so high would look low upon people like me and use us as a vessel for you. How blessed we are to even be called servants, to be able to share in Your kingdom and share Your love with others. 

Thank You for the cross, where You have given us peace and holiness. 

Father, we long to say Yes to You.” 

Katie Davis 

Leave a Reply

