My First Month Here in Indonesia  

Nick and I spent our first two weeks here getting our home into order & settling down into the church & community. Things then got pretty cruisy by week 3. God has been bringing neighbourhood kids to our doorstep regularly. Sometimes they play chess, but many times they ask to read and I have had the opportunity to give spontaneous, informal & very basic English classes to these children. Pray that I would teach skillfully & creatively to these children. I need wisdom from above. 🙂 

Our fourth week was my most challenging. Nick received an invitation to preach & minister in a village 6 hours away (by bike on dirt road). I knew it was time for me to face my fears of being left in the base camp without him. Having been unwell & slightly frail of late, it would have been unwise for him to bring me to that particular village which has extremely poor sanitation & requires long hours in sun exposure. 

I struggled with great loneliness the first two days of our separation. Nick himself too, wasn’t completely well during his time ministering up the mountains. 

Then I came down with what I believe to be an upper urinary tract infection which brought pain & also anxiety. 

Thankful for several church members who came alongside to support and help during this time. Also to the hubby who really has been my hero, comfort and strength the past month. 

If there are five words I could use to describe the life that I have chosen to life, it would be “Not easy, but surely blessed”. 

The Bible says in 1 Corinthians 7:29-31 that “the appointed time has grown very short. From now on, let those who have wives live as though they had none, and those who mourn as though they were not mourning, and those who rejoice as though they were not rejoicing, and those who buy as though they had no goods, and those who deal with the world as though they had no dealings with it. For the present form of this world is passing away.” 

This is certainly no excuse for husband or wife to neglect his or her marital and relational responsibilities within the context of marriage and family in the name of ministry or God. What I believe the bible is trying to say however, is that we must be so Christ and Kingdom focused, that it governs our daily decisions even in our marriage, work and how we manage our possessions. Viewing all these in the light of eternity helps us keep perspective of what’s truly important. 

As Nick’s wife I am not to seek a greater work other than doing the greater work of supporting the one who is called. It is my sacrifice as I “live as though I had no husband” when I release him to go and give and possibly even lose his life for the sake of Christ. And this is where my cross is heaviest.

But this is all part of “the deal”. 

Matthew 10:34-39 

“He who loves father or mother more than Me is not worthy of Me. And he who loves son or daughter more than Me is not worthy of Me. And he who does not take his cross and follow after Me is not worthy of Me. He who finds his life will lose it, and he who loses his life for My sake will find it.”

The central point of Matthew 10:34-37 is that the love of God and His kingdom must take precedence over every other human relationship. 

Jesus never promised us an easy journey, but He has given us His sufficient grace (2 Cor 12:9), He will bring our work to completion (Phil 1:6) and He has promised to never leave nor forsake us. (Heb 13:5)











One thought on “My First Month Here in Indonesia  

Leave a Reply

